mgsautils.git
23 months agofix-ip6-default-route.sh: Added script to monitor IPv6 default route master
MegaBrutal [Fri, 5 Jan 2018 08:30:00 +0000 (09:30 +0100)]
fix-ip6-default-route.sh: Added script to monitor IPv6 default route

Added a Debian/Ubuntu specific script to check the IPv6 default route
of the host, whether it is absent or configured from RA while it is
supposed to be static.

This is necessary because LXC containers are often affected by a
race condition, when the interface has a static config, but it gets
a default route through Router Advertisement before RAs get disabled.

For reference:
https://www.mail-archive.com/lxc-users@lists.linuxcontainers.org/msg07776.html
https://github.com/lxc/lxd/issues/3582

Although a bit messy, this script is intended to be fool-proof, so
it does not do any harm if it is run on a host where it has no use
to run. So you can deploy it to all LXC containers in your uniform
environment where RA, DHCPv6 and statically configured containers
may co-exist. It is advised to schedule this script (e.g. with cron)
to have it periodically check the IPv6 default route. Unless the -v
(verbose) option is supplied, the script should only have output
when it does some action, otherwise it's silent.

The script checks whether there are only static IPv6 interface
configurations listed in /etc/network/interfaces. If any interface
is automatically configured on purpose, the script stops (as it is
assumed the host is supposed to get its default route through
automatic configuration). If only static inet6 interface configs
exist and a default route is clearly defined, it checks the IPv6
default route. If there is no default route, or it is received
from RA, the script resets the interface and reconfigures it with
ifup.

        new file:   host/fix-ip6-default-route.sh

2 years agocheck-blacklist.sh: Added script to check DNSBL blacklist
MegaBrutal [Sat, 4 Feb 2017 13:40:00 +0000 (14:40 +0100)]
check-blacklist.sh: Added script to check DNSBL blacklist

The new check-blacklist.sh script can be used to check if your mail server
appears on a DNSBL blacklist, because if such thing happens, it worth
your attention.

Can be easily integrated with monitoring systems like Zabbix.

Requires DiG to be installed.

new file:   host/check-blacklist.sh

3 years agocheck-nfs-hang.sh: Added script to monitor NFS mount health
MegaBrutal [Sat, 5 Nov 2016 22:20:40 +0000 (23:20 +0100)]
check-nfs-hang.sh: Added script to monitor NFS mount health

The check-nfs-hang.sh script alerts when the monitored network file system
is not mounted or hanging. Similarly to check-fs-usage.sh, it may be
scheduled with cron, and sends e-mail when an e-mail address is supplied.

By the way, check-fs-usage.sh has been moved to the more appropriate
"fs" directory.

renamed:    host/check-fs-usage.sh -> fs/check-fs-usage.sh
new file:   fs/check-nfs-hang.sh

3 years agobackup_diff.sh: Replaced other occurrences of "ls --sort=t"
MegaBrutal [Fri, 19 Feb 2016 21:55:00 +0000 (22:55 +0100)]
backup_diff.sh: Replaced other occurrences of "ls --sort=t"

I made a huge mistake in my previous commit and left some occurrences
of "ls --sort=t" in the script, thus it was still not operating
correctly on FreeBSD.

modified:   fs/backup_diff.sh

3 years agobackup_diff.sh: Replaced "ls --sort=t" with "ls -t" for FreeBSD compatibility
MegaBrutal [Fri, 19 Feb 2016 04:40:30 +0000 (05:40 +0100)]
backup_diff.sh: Replaced "ls --sort=t" with "ls -t" for FreeBSD compatibility

Turns out, "ls --sort=t" is not a valid syntax for FreeBSD, but "ls -t" has
the same function, and is accepted by both GNU and FreeBSD.

modified:   fs/backup_diff.sh

3 years agobackup_diff.sh, backup_full.sh: Updated for new dar versions, added FreeBSD compatibility
MegaBrutal [Mon, 15 Feb 2016 22:10:00 +0000 (23:10 +0100)]
backup_diff.sh, backup_full.sh: Updated for new dar versions, added FreeBSD compatibility

- In dar invocations, changed the "-y9" switch to "-zbzip2:9", as recent
versions of dar don't recognize the former argument. Both arguments mean
the same, though: bzip2 compression on level 9 (best).

- FreeBSD doesn't have the md5sum utility to calculate checksums, thus
FreeBSD's md5 utility is used instead.

modified:   fs/backup_diff.sh
modified:   fs/backup_full.sh

3 years agosnapshot-rootfs.sh, vmhost-status.sh: New path for btrfs binary
MegaBrutal [Thu, 4 Feb 2016 11:23:06 +0000 (12:23 +0100)]
snapshot-rootfs.sh, vmhost-status.sh: New path for btrfs binary

With Ubuntu 15.10, the path of the btrfs binary has changed from /sbin/btrfs to /bin/btrfs.
Therefore, I stopped referring to the binary by full path.
While /bin is in the PATH by default on Ubuntu 15.10 (even for cron jobs),
on older Ubuntus or other distros, you may possibly need to
add /sbin or /bin to the PATH for these scripts.

modified:   fs/snapshot-rootfs.sh
modified:   host/vmhost-status.sh

4 years agobackup_diff.sh, backup_full.sh: Prepared for in-place backups
MegaBrutal [Tue, 29 Sep 2015 03:22:36 +0000 (05:22 +0200)]
backup_diff.sh, backup_full.sh: Prepared for in-place backups

- Added option CLEAN_DIR to backup_fsdiff.conf which enables/disables
purging of the backup directory whenever a new full backup is made.
Previously, the hard-coded behavior was to purge the $STORAGE directory.

- MD5 checksum is now only counted for the recently made backup file.
Previously, all checksums were recalculated.

Now it is possible to have the main backup repository mounted at $STORAGE
and keep several weeks (or whatever backup cycle you have) of backups there.
With previous versions of the script, you were supposed to transfer those
files to a remote server, while the local $STORAGE directory was only used as
temporary storage. Now you can even mount $STORAGE directly from the remote
server through NFS or iSCSI, if that is more convenient for you.

modified:   backup_diff.sh
modified:   backup_fsdiff.conf
modified:   backup_full.sh

4 years agobackup_diff.sh, backup_full.sh: Cleaned up for publication, added rsync transfer...
MegaBrutal [Wed, 2 Sep 2015 20:32:55 +0000 (22:32 +0200)]
backup_diff.sh, backup_full.sh: Cleaned up for publication, added rsync transfer mode

- Moved hard-coded data to separate config file.

- Now it is configurable how to transfer backup files to a remote server:
it is possible by scp or rsync, or to not transfer them at all.
The backup directory may be mounted from a remote server by NFS or other method,
in which case there is no need to transfer the files by scp or rsync.

Note however, backup_full.sh purges the backup directory, because it is assumed
that the files have already been transferred to a remote location.

modified:   fs/backup_diff.sh
new file:   fs/backup_fsdiff.conf
modified:   fs/backup_full.sh

4 years agobackup.sh: Clean up junk if tar creation fails
MegaBrutal [Thu, 20 Aug 2015 05:31:48 +0000 (07:31 +0200)]
backup.sh: Clean up junk if tar creation fails

If the file system gets full during tar creation, and the junk files (SQL dumps, partial TAR) stay there, the file system is left with 100% usage.
This may have very unpleasant consequences, so it's best to simply remove those files.

modified:   mysql/backup.sh

4 years agomysqlbak_check.sh: Truncate file list and show summary
MegaBrutal [Sat, 15 Aug 2015 02:52:28 +0000 (04:52 +0200)]
mysqlbak_check.sh: Truncate file list and show summary

Changed MySQL backup check script to truncate file lists (only show 20 files of the most recent and the oldest backups) and show statistics (file number and summarized
size) at the end of each directory listing.

modified:   mysqlbak_check.sh

4 years ago Initial commit
MegaBrutal [Tue, 4 Aug 2015 02:23:54 +0000 (04:23 +0200)]
 Initial commit

 Changes to be committed:
new file:   fs/backup_check.sh
new file:   fs/backup_check_FreeBSD.sh
new file:   fs/backup_diff.sh
new file:   fs/backup_full.sh
new file:   fs/snapshot-rootfs.sh
new file:   host/check-fs-usage.sh
new file:   host/vmhost-status.sh
new file:   mysql/backup.sh
new file:   mysql/mysqlbak_check.sh
new file:   smf/check_smf_pending_users.sh
new file:   smf/mail_user_profile.sh
new file:   smf/smf_fetch_user_profile.sh